Why I Call Myself Transgender

Gender Dysphoria: the persistent sensation/feeling/suspicion/pain that my body does not match what my brain (or some other subconscious authority over what my body should be) thinks it should find.

That’s it. Other people who call themselves transgender but don’t feel dysphoria about their bodies’ physical genders? I don’t know why they would take the label transgender.

We have words for “transcending binary gender” without feeling dysphoric: nonbinary, genderqueer, genderfluid, bigender, agender, gender nonconforming, etc. Why don’t we use them as such?

I want there to be clear definitions for this stuff. It’s been too confusing for too long.

Leave a Reply

